Poetry Thursday #9

20180728_143914.jpg

What’s that you say? It’s Thursday? And I haven’t written in…a long time. Almost a year again. Crazy how time flies and how best intentions fall short. Must be something about inching toward Autumn that keeps bringing me back. We’ll see if it sticks this time.

A long time ago when I was young and constantly heartbroke, I wrote miles of poetry. Usually it took me a few months, but in one two-week stretch I filled up one of my 100 page notebooks. Prolific, yes. Good? I’ll let you decided. I grabbed a few from that notebook that still ring a bit true.

the same questions

these days going by
so strange to think
they’re almost done
bittersweet the only
word coming close
to describing this,
these feelings inside
leaving new friends
to go see old ones
does the world
make these things
happen on purpose?
does happiness ever come
without some
covered-up pain?
even as I ask,
I know the answer
looking back,
I’ve always known

enough to send shivers

sitting here in a broken
white lawnchair
looking out over
still-dead trees
the wind blows Spring
with just a touch of winter
tailing behind
warm enough
for shorts but cool enough
to send shivers
once in awhile
the snow is gone and the days
are still counting
isn’t this
what I always wanted?
isn’t this
what I looked forward to?
sometimes
sometimes I wonder

One response to “Poetry Thursday #9

Leave a comment