Song of the Week – Sick of it All

Me and Lou, Sick of it All singer. Circa 2001

Hardcore is Punk Rock’s louder, harder, more aggressive brother. Hardcore bands range from melodic, such as H2O, to pretty brutal stuff by the likes of Strife, with plenty of variations along the way. My favorite hardcore band, and one of my favorite bands is Sick of it All. They’ve been around for 25 years, helping define the New York Hardcore sound and scene, and have only gotten harder through the years. In my mind they’re the best hardcore band, period. Their shows are amazing, and I’ve been able to meet them a few times. Despite what their sound might suggest, they’re incredibly nice guys. I’ll admit their music isn’t for everyone, but you should give it a shot, even if you only listen on a day when you need some loud, fast, and for lack of a better word, hardcore music. Turn it up.

My little girl likes them too 🙂

2 responses to “Song of the Week – Sick of it All

  1. I have no problem listening to this, but my husband will ask me to put on headphones. He’s a big oldies and those quiet radio station type music listeners. Luckily, I can stand listening to his stuff so we never have to fight in the car over the radio.

  2. I have pretty broad music tastes, and there’s definitely a time and place for quieter music. My wife likes more mellow stuff in general, and we usually have similar tastes with that. But she went to a Sick of it All concert with me, so she gets extra gold coolness stars. I mostly listen to this type of music with headphones on too. That’s awesome you and your husband get along musically. My mom didn’t like a lot of what my dad did growing up (Hendrix, Elvis), so we didn’t have much music in the house.

Leave a Reply

