Interview: Author Trisha Wolfe

Trisha Wolfe is one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. Plus she likes the Misfits. Those two qualities put her pretty high up on my list. She’s a fellow member of the Apocalypsies, and her debut novel DESTINY’S FIRE is out today. She graciously agreed to doing an interview, and provided some great answers. I hope you enjoy the interview, and definitely check out DESTINY’S FIRE, available today!

First, tell us a little about yourself. What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Thanks for having me on your blog, Dan! Hmm, let’s see. I feel like I’m always writing lol. I always have more than one project going, so it pretty much takes up most of my day. I have two blogs, so when I’m not writing, I’m reading. Or critiquing for CP’s. But when I’m not doing my writing life stuff, there’s the fam to take care of, and sometimes I find time to watch TV and movies. I listen to music while doing everything else that’s not writer-ish.

When did you start writing?

First time I knew I wanted to be an author, I was 14. Wrote a lot of bad, depressing poetry and some short stories about vamps. I worked on various books through my early twenties, but didn’t seriously decide to start writing as my career until a few years ago. I think that whole freak out about turning 30 is what did it. Life was going to end!

Do you write free-hand or on the computer?

Both. I jot down notes about characters, plot, scene additions and changes, before and during the writing process. But I write the books all on Word.

Who are some of your favorite authors and/or writing influences?

Anne Rice influenced me the most in my teens. She’s the reason I wanted to become an author. Now, I have way too many to list, and would feel bad if I left anyone out. Really, all authors inspire me. The determination it takes to write and finish a book, and the sheer stubbornness and relentless pursuit to become published through all the obstacles…power to them all!

What are some of your favorite books?

Again, way too many to list lol. I really don’t want to name drop and leave peeps out. I read on average 100 books a year. Though, now that I’m writing full time, that number is steadily going down. That saddens me, too. I need to make some time for reading. I fear I may have to give a family member away in order to do this.

What’s your favorite genre to read?

Young Adult, hands down. There’re so many different elements and originality in this genre, you can never run out of things to read. And it just keeps growing. I’m excited to see where it goes in the next couple of years.

How does it feel to have your debut novel DESTINY’S FIRE coming out?

Awesome, amazing, the best thing ever…scared, nervous, second guessing myself. I think it’s a combination of many things. I mean, I’ve had short stories like UNVEILED come out, but this is a WHOLE novel. If it would’ve happened with the first book, I’d probably be a little more flipping my script. But I’ve learned a lot over the past three years that has shown me the other side of publishing, which can be quite intimidating. Even after you’re published. But overall, I remind myself to have fun. And I happy dance around my house a lot.

Tell us a little about DESTINY’S FIRE.

It’s hard for me to sum it up lol. Yes, the author of the book can’t sum up her own book. So I’ll give ya the blurb: It’s the year 2040, and sixteen-year-old Dez Harkly is one of the last of her kind—part of a nearly extinct race of shape-shifters descended from guardians to the Egyptian pharaohs. Her home and her secret are threatened when the Council lowers the barrier, allowing the enemy race to enter the Shythe haven.

As the Narcolym airships approach, Dez and her friends rebel against their Council and secretly train for battle. Not only is Dez wary of war and her growing affection for her best friend Jace, but she fears the change her birthday will bring. When Dez’s newfound power rockets out of control, it’s a Narcolym who could change her fate… if she can trust him.

Dez’s guarded world crumbles when she discovers why the Narcos have really come to Haven Falls, and she’s forced to choose between the race who raised her and the enemy she’s feared her whole life.

DESTINY’S FIRE has a very interesting premise. Where did you get the idea for Dez and her kind to be descendants of Egyptian shapeshifters?

I sat down one day and made a list of all the things that interested me. Ancient Egypt was at the top of the list. I then focused on their gods, and things just developed from there. The inner workings of my mind can be a scary place. We might not want to go there.

What draws you to steampunk?

The “what if”. There’re so many things that can be implemented into Steampunk, there’s no limit. It’s not just about “steam” though that’s an important element, it’s about imagination, and creating, and discovering. I love reading other authors’ worlds and creations and gadgets.

Is DESTINY’S FIRE part of a series? If so, how is the next book coming?

It is. I originally planned it to be a trilogy, but after plotting the second book, I believe it works best as a two book series. I firmly believe that if something can be done, and done right without excess, then there’s no reason to drag it out. The characters decide this for me. I’ve only completed the first chapter, but I plan to have it completed in the next three months.

What’s your writing process, if you have a specific one? Does it usually start with a story idea, or a character, or something else?

Each book always starts with the characters. They come to me before anything else. Then I build the world around them, though I bring in different things to add more layers and ideas as I write. But the characters dictate the overall story.

Once you have your general idea, do you outline extensively or just write as you go?

I’m a big time pantser. When I first get an idea for a story, I take notes for where I’d like it to go. But like I said above, the characters run the show. I always end up going back to the start and changing scenes after I get to the end of the book. I have an overall idea of what the whole story will be, but writing straight through is the only way I discover all the details to each scene. I’m a big layer-er (there should be a noun for writers to use for this) once the story is complete. I love going back through and adding more tension to scenes.

Do you listen to music while you write? If so, who?

I listen to music in every area of my life, except for when I write. I actually find it distracting. I’m a huge music fan, and that means I start jamming out instead of working. I like to make playlists for my books, though. And I listen to those while doing mundane things, and that helps with future scenes as I’m working on a book. For DESTINY’S FIRE, I listened to a lot of Florence and the Machine. Blinding, for me, is Dez’s song. It gives me chills every time I listen to it.

Any advice for aspiring writers?

Read. Write. Read more. Then write more. Read everything in your genre. And once that first book is done and out there, either being read by agents or publishers, start working on another book. The best thing; never quit. If you don’t, then you WILL write the book that makes it. That book is different for each author, but they all have one thing in common. They keep writing.

And finally, and probably most importantly, your favorite superhero?

Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Thanks so much to Trisha for doing this interview. DESTINY’S FIRE sounds awesome, and I can’t wait to read it.

Here’s some more info about Trisha, as well as links to her website, twitter, etc.

About the author: Trisha Wolfe is the author of the YA Steampunk/Paranormal Romance DESTINY’S FIRE. Her published short stories have appeared in YA literary journals and Fantasy magazines. UNVEILED is her first novelette and part of a Dystopian series releasing TBA. She’s written four books in the past two years, and is currently working on the sequel to DF and a new project. She’s represented by Lauren Hammond of ADA Management.

Links:
Website: http://www.TrishaWolfe.com
Blog: http://TrishaWolfe.blogspot.com
Twitter: http://Twitter.com/TrishWolfe
Facebook: http://Facebook.com/TrishaWolfeYA
Goodreads: http://Goodreads.com/twolfe

4 responses to “Interview: Author Trisha Wolfe

Leave a Reply

