2012 Goals

It’s that time again. The whole year is right in front of us in a huge, clean, blank slate. Time to start making some marks on it. I’m not so much into resolutions. Resolving to do something is great, but I think it’s better to make goals and then resolve to meet those goals. Semantics? Maybe, but it works better in my head. Here are my goals for 2012.

1. Find a job that gives me more time with my family. This is a carryover from last year, but it’s still my main goal. I love working in animation, but the long hours and short contracts can be really frustrating. So I either need to get on long-term somewhere, or find a job in a new industry. I’m crossing my fingers for something that might happen within the next month, so I’ll post on that if it happens.

2. Enjoy the release of OLDSOUL. Because really, there’s not much more I can do at this point. Hopefully people like it. Hopefully it’s not universally hated. But either way, it should be a fun ride.

3. Finish my current book and sell it. All I can do is write the best book possible, and then leave it in the extremely capable hands of my agent to sell it. I’m halfway through and will hopefully be finishing it in the next month or so.

4. Make more comics. For reals this year.

5. Read a bunch. Last year’s goal was 100 books. This year I’m not so worried about the number. There are a bunch of books on my shelf that for one reason or another, I haven’t read yet.

Some of the books that have been on my To Be Read list for years.

Well, this year is their year. I still set a goal of 52, since I could probably average one book a week. So here’s the counter for that.

2012 Reading Challenge

2012 Reading Challenge
Dan has read 0 books toward his goal of 52 books.
hide

6. Keep up the blogging. I’ve had a lot of fun doing the interviews lately, and people have seemed to enjoy those. so I’m going to try to keep those up. I’m also going to be blogging bi-weekly starting next week on the site Adr3nalin3.blogspot.com.

7. Revise my screenplay and submit it to contests or agents. This one depends a lot on how much free time I have, what with having to write a few more books. So we’ll see. Still, I’d really like to do it.

8. Draw draw draw. I’m going to be writing a lot, but I also need to draw a lot this year. I know “a lot” is pretty vague, so I’ll say at least once a week. I’m pretty sure I can keep that up.

That’s it for this year. I might add some more as time goes on, but I feel like it’s a pretty good start for now. I hope you all have a fun and safe new years, and are able to achieve all the goals you set. Happy New Year!!

4 responses to “2012 Goals

  1. I think you have some pretty realistic goals! I’ve not done my good reads yet. Hit 61 last year but doubt that’ll happen again. I’m thinking 30…just over 2 a month. We’ll see. And can’t wait to mark Old Soul as one of them. πŸ™‚

  2. It’s amazing that so many ppl have had the same thought about going with goals vs resolutions this year. Great minds…

    Good luck on the job. It’s hard to find something you love doing that gives you everything you need.

    I read 116 books last year, and I’m tryign to read less this year. Hope it will give me the chance to do more writing, studying and everythin else.

  3. These are awesome! I know you’ll be able to reach them all. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait for OLDSOUL to come out! It can be one of my 50 goodreads books this year. πŸ™‚ And you are totally going to sell #sekritproject. I can feel it.

    Good luck as you search for that job that will give you more time with your family. It will happen. πŸ™‚

    Happy New Year!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

