End of Year Check-In

The best thing I did this year (even though my wife did most of the work)

Another year is coming to an end. Does anybody else feel like time is just flying by? I can remember being a teenager and the months dragged on and on. Now it seems like I never have enough time and am getting way older by the second. I guess that’s just how it goes. Last January I made some resolutions for the year, and I figured I should list them again and see how I did. Because what’s the point of having goals if you don’t follow through, right? Here we go.

1. Publish my book. This one didn’t quite happen, but in about four months it will. My first book OLDSOUL is coming out April 24th, and I couldn’t be more excited.

2. Finish my next book. This turned out a bit different than I had planned. I got about 5000 words into the new book, but then I signed on with Kathleen Ortiz, and started on the new new project. I’m halfway through it, so it’s a decent start.

3. Finish my short film and get it into festivals. This has been a goal for the last few years, and I’m happy to report I finally got it done. It played in a few festivals, even winning a some awards. It’s playing one more festival next year, then I’ll be posting it online. You can see a clip here.

4. Blog at least twice a month. I’ve done pretty well with this. Hopefully most of it is worth reading πŸ™‚

5. Create something every week. This was a pretty nebulous goal. I know I wrote every week, so I guess I can say I got this. But next year I need to come up with better, more measurable goals.

6. Read tons. My goal for the year was 100 books. I just finished my 100th book, Howl’s Moving Castle, yesterday. (I love the movie, and the books was quite good, though rather different) Thanks to Goodreads.com I kept track of them and even have a handy dandy widget:

2011 Reading Challenge

2011 Reading Challenge
Dan has completed his goal of reading 100 books in 2011!
hide

7. Draw and write at least three times a week. Like I said, I know I wrote every week. The drawing was a bit more sporadic. Some weeks I drew every day and some weeks not at all. This might be a goal I carry over to next year.

8. Make more comics. Unfortunately, this one was a failure. I made one comic, which is what I’d made the year before. I’ve got to make at least two next year.

9. Get a job that allows me more time with my family. This is still my most important goal, and it didn’t happen this year. I’m not really sure how it’s going to happen, but I’m hoping for a few things in the next few months that might make a difference.

Well, that’s it. Not too bad I guess. Still plenty of room for improvement, but it feels like I’m making progress. And no matter what, I’ve got my health and my amazing family, and I don’t really need much more than that. I hope you all had a great 2011, and hope for an even better 2012!

5 responses to “End of Year Check-In

  1. Haha. Thanks! I love her cheeks too πŸ™‚

    I have to say a fair amount of the books were graphic novels. I think they totally count as books, but they do tend to be a quicker read. I didn’t have enough time for 100 straight up novels. Maybe someday πŸ™‚

  2. awww! β™₯ You know, our kids are adopted and I still say they are the best thing we did. So I think you can take a bigger credit than you’re giving yourself. πŸ™‚ And BTW your family is adorable.

  3. Thank you Jen! That’s awesome about your kids! My sister’s two kids are adopted as well. You definitely did well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

