Merry Christmas!

I wanted to do a post of my favorite Christmas hymn, which is O Holy Night. There’s something amazing about that song when sung well. But with all the holiday business, I hadn’t had a chance to put it up. Then a few days ago my sister sent me an email with an mp3 attachment. It was a recording from 1948 of my grandfather singing Silent Night. I never knew my mom’s dad. He died of cancer before I was born. But from what I’ve heard, he was a great man. My sister found some old records and had gotten them converted, and this song was on one of them. It’s pretty scratchy, but it still sounds decent. Silent Night is another of my favorite hymns, so I made a quick video with a picture of my grandpa and grandma so I could share it.

Today was a fantastic Christmas. We spent a lot of time with family, the kids had fun with their presents, and overall it was a day to remember. I know that not everyone celebrates Christmas, and I hope this post doesn’t offend anyone. But for those who do celebrate Christmas, I hope they had a fun and memorable day. And I hope at least once during the day some thought was given to that night so long ago, when a child was born in a humble manger in Bethlehem.

Silent night! Holy night!
Shepherds quake at the sight!
Glories stream from heaven afar;
Heav’nly hosts sing Alleluia!
Christ, the Savior, is born!
Christ, the Savior, is born!

Leave a Reply

