Busy busy busy

I haven’t had much of a chance to blog lately. We moved a week ago, and even though the new place is only about a mile away, it was still moving, which I hate. We’re still trying to get things organized, which is also not very high on my list of favorite activities. But I have a few minutes now so I figured I’d update where I’m at with OLDSOUL and Sekrit Project.

I just finished up with my final readthrough of OLDSOUL last night. You know what’s amazing? I’ve read it at least 20 times. I would say at least ten other people have read it as well. And over half the time, those readings were for editing purposes. You know, to look for errors and typos and such. And last night, I still found typos! I’m definitely not blaming the other people who read it. I’m so grateful to them for being willing to help, and it’s my fault more than anyone else’s, since I’m the guy who typo-ed all over in the first place. But I am blaming our brains. Our brains have the astounding ability to automatically fix errors that we see. Maybe you’ve seen something like this floating around the web.

How can you expect a brain that is capable of reading this to find typos? I digress. The important thing is that typos suck, but I’m incredibly lucky to have friends who are willing to help ferret them out with me. I hope none slipped by. Next week it will be going to typesetting. Happy face.

As far as Seckrit Project goes, it’s coming along pretty well. I’m about a third of the way through my first draft, and I really like the characters and exploring the world. My agent wanted to do an edit of what I had so far, and all I can say about that is holy red pen, Batman! To be fair, the notes are spot-on and I’m sure will make the story a lot better. But it’s a big change from OLDSOUL, where I’d written the whole thing before getting any notes back from people. Since I still can’t really talk about the project, I’ll leave it at that. But I’m very excited with how it’s coming together and where it’s headed.

And today finally felt like fall. It was cool and the clouds were gorgeous. I hope you’re all doing well and enjoying the season!

3 responses to “Busy busy busy

  1. You have an excellent brain then. But we knew that 🙂 I don’t know when I’ll be able to say more about the new project. Hopefully soon, but I’m really not sure. And I second your yay about OLDSOUL!

  2. OK, so you did say it was your FINAL read through of OLDSOUL, so this tip may be too late but . . . if you read your manuscript aloud, you’ll catch the most (if not all of the) errors. It takes forever, but it always seems to work.

Leave a Reply

