Song of the Week: AFI

AFI singer Davey Havok and I. Circa 2000

AFI is one of my favorite bands. Through the years, they’ve evolved quite drastically. If you were to listen to one of their early songs compared to a song off their last album, you might have a hard time believing they’re the same band. Whether or not you like the changes in sound they’ve gone through, they’ve consistently written great music. I’ve been able to see them play a bunch of times and even met them. They couldn’t be nicer guys, and I’m glad they’re getting the success they deserve.

Though I like it all, my favorite music of theirs is from the middle of their discography. They came out with an EP during this period called All Hallows, and it’s perfect for this time of year. Really, a lot of their songs fit the season quite nicely, but Fall Children in particular. If you don’t know about them, check them out. They’re playing much larger venues now, but it’s still worth your time to go see them. They put on one of the best live shows I’ve ever seen, and like I said before, the music is incredible.

4 responses to “Song of the Week: AFI

  1. !!!!! I love AFI. I wish I had more of their albums (I have Decemberunderground). I HAVE to scream, er sing, Miss Murder whenever I hear it. That and Prelude 12/21 are my “I’ve got writers block and I need to get pumped up and write” songs. If I’m feeling blah about what I’m writing, I put in my ear buds and blast them on repeat until I’m in the right mood. I haven’t heard this song, but it’s good! I’ll have to check them out on Spotify!

  2. A good sign of a good band is their ability to evolve and grow while staying true to themselves as a unit. AFI is a good example of that, always keeping fans on the edge of what’s going to come next. Great band to write about!

  3. Glad you like AFI Mandie 🙂 They’re an amazing band. Did you have a chance to listen to any more of their stuff?

    I totally agree, Phillip. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Pingback: peter gerard scully

Leave a Reply

