Song of the Week: Tiger Army

Cade and I with Nick13. Circa 2001

I know this is kinda late, but it’s finally October!Β  Fall is my favorite time of the year. As much as I love Southern California winters, I hate the lack of fall’s cool weather and changing colors. Still, I love the season, Halloween in particular. So this month I’m doing fall and Halloween themed songs. Hope you like them!

This week’s song is by an amazing band called Tiger Army. A few weeks back I highlighted Nick 13 and mentioned Tiger Army. Tiger Army is a psychobilly band, which means they combine punk and rockabilly elements (think early Johnny Cash and Elvis), as well as science fiction, horror and other underground topics. On each album Tiger Army does a more country-sounding song, and one of my all-time favorite songs is their song “In the Orchard”. While not specifically a fall song, it always reminds me of this time of year.

I’ve been able to see them play a few times, and they always put on an incredible show. One fall my friends Cade and Korey and I saw them play in Salt Lake City. Cade and Korey carved Jack-o-lanterns and we gave them to the band. They ended up putting them out on stage when they played. Super cool guys and amazing music. Tiger Army Never Die!

Bonus song!
Nick13 covers himself on his solo album. Here’s a more laid-back version:

4 responses to “Song of the Week: Tiger Army

  1. Not bad! Different, good. I liked the original better than the cover too. Not gonna lie, the guy in the middle on the right picture of the strip looks kind of scary! Well, the look on his face does…that’s one of those if looks could kill! Love these posts!

  2. Thanks Mandie! Glad you like it πŸ™‚ The original will always be my favorite, but I do like the second one, especially in context of the whole album. A good amount of Tiger Army’s stuff is faster-paced. I’ll have to bring them back sometime. And yeah, Geoff, the bassist looks pretty evil in that pic πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve never heard of Tiger Army before, but I really like that song! A lot! Both versions are really cool. I like the faster-paced one, but the instrumentation of the slower one is really neat too. Hard to decide! Thanks for sharing. I may have to add them to my playlist. πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for listening Kristin! Glad you liked it πŸ™‚ I still like the original a little bit better. Definitely add them to your playlist though!

Leave a Reply

