Best Comic Book Cover of the Week #3

Hey, would you look at that? I actually have an image on here, and it’s actually Wednesday. What is this madness? Well, hopefully it’s the start of a trend of me not failing to get this weekly posting done on time. We’ll see…

This week’s cover is bittersweet for me. It’s sweet because I love DC comics and their characters, and I love Jim Lee’s art. He’s an absolute legend in the field and penciled one of my favorite Batman storylines of all time, the Hush series. Now to the bitter part. As you may have heard, starting with this issue of Justice League, DC is rebooting their whole continuity, and starting each title over with #1. Now, I’m not wholly opposed to the reboot. I actually think it’s a pretty good idea and if nothing else, it should get people excited about these comics.

My main problem comes with the renumbering. It means there will be a Batman #1 coming out, same with Action Comics, Superman, and Detective Comics. It just makes me sad that these comics, which have been counting up every month since the late 1930’s, are now starting back at #1. Action Comics was up to #904. Detective was at #881. Superman was at #714 and Batman was at #713. It might seem like a silly thing, but I was looking forward to seeing each of these comics hit #1000. Now it looks like Marvel will reach that milestone first with one of its titles. Nothing against Marvel, but as a Batman guy, I was definitely rooting for DC. Alas, it’s not meant to be. But I am excited about the new direction DC is taking their characters in. They’ve lined up a ton of talented creators and I know we’re in store for some great stories and art. And it may not be in order, but I’m still going to be happy when these titles reach the 1000 issue mark.

Leave a Reply

