Best Comic Book Cover of the Week #2

How lame am I? I come up with a new “weekly” thing I’m going to do, and I don’t even make it last one week. Prett-y lame, that’s how. In my defense, I was planning on doing this on my lunch hour at work. Wellll….for some reason Sony doesn’t want me uploading things from my desktop to my blog. I can’t imagine why. But the funny thing is I can upload them to Facebook and other image sites, just not my blog. Oh well. So therein lies the main problem. (the other main one being my lack of free time and unwillingness to get up super early.) I don’t want to wait until the end of the day, since my lunch break is still the best time to write this. So I think I’m going to do the post and just put a link to the image for now, then when I get home on Wednesday nights, I’ll put the image up here. Sound good? Hopefully this is a reasonable agreement. On to the cover!!

Well, before we do that, first I need to list the last two weeks.

Two weeks ago: Jae Lee’s cover of Wolverine #13. Jae has an amazing style, somewhat similar to Jock. I’ve loved his stuff since way back on WildC.A.T.S, and continue to do so. This cover has some great use of negative space.

 

 

 

One week ago: Dustin Nguyen is phenomenal. He does a lot of interior work, but he might be better known for his watercolor covers, especially on the Batman related books. My wife met him at Comic-Con last year, and he was super nice to her. He signed this print for her that is now hanging in our office. Anyway, I love this cover for Batgirl, and it’s a shame this series is ending.

 

 

This week: This week was a little tougher. There wasn’t anything that grabbed me right off. There was another great Jock cover, but I decided I want to make sure to not use the same artist more than once a month. But it was good in that it made me look a little bit closer. This week’s winner is the cover of Daredevil #2 by Paulo and/or Joe Rivera. (I guess they’re a team, since they’re both credited with the art.) The art reminds me of Chris Samnee’s work on Thor: The Mighty Avenger, of which I’m a huge fan. I love the simple shading and inking done, and the somewhat desaturated color palette.  I also love the silhouettes of the characters. Time and time again in art and animation classes the importance of good silhouettes was drilled into my head. You should be able to paint a character black and still have a good idea of the pose they’re making and what message that conveys. It’s harder and more time-consuming to do this, but when correctly implemented, it definitely pays off. I’m also intrigued by the fact that both characters are using the other guy’s signature weapon. This cover has tons to offer and is very enticing.

Leave a Reply

