Comic-Con 2011

The annual “celebration of the popular arts” known as the San Diego Comic-Con was this past week, and I was able to go again this year. Unfortunately, because of work I was only able to make it one night, but it was still awesome. This year I went with my brother-in-law Ryan and my oldest son London. We dressed him up as Aang, from the amazing animated series Avatar: The Last Airbender, and he was a big hit with the crowd. As always, the main convention hall was filled to the brim with people, both in costume and not. This video Ryan shot will give you an idea of what it’s like:

It was hard to tell who was more excited about some of the displays, Ryan or London. London wanted pictures of pretty much every Lego thing, of which there were plenty, and Ryan was stoked to see all the Star Wars and different geek things there.

When we first got there, we made a quick round of the convention hall, taking in as much as we could. We saw tons of cool displays, and even saw the original Hulk, Lou Ferrigno. We had to sneak a picture of him though, since I really couldn’t justify spending $40 for a Poloroid(!) with him. Dude is still incredibly ripped though. I was impressed. I didn’t get to meet as many creators as last year, but I was still able to meet a few. First I met Robert Kirkman, writer of Invincible (which I love) and The Walking Dead, among other things. He was super nice. Then I met Ryan Ottley, who is the artist on Invincible and is also from Utah. He was awesome, and might even be related to Ryan’s wife. We also got to meet Derek Hunter, a rad comic writer/artist who knows a bunch of folks I went to high school with. I bought this Invincible print and Robert and Ryan were both nice enough to sign it for me.

     

The other creator I was able to meet was Stan Sakai, writer and artist of Usagi Yojimbo. If you were ever a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle fan, you probably know who the samurai rabbit is. But you might not have known that both TMNT and Usagi Yojimbo started out as comic books. Anyway, Mr. Sakai has been doing this for years. I think he’s up to about volume 25 now.  I’ve been meaning to start reading the Usagi Yojimbo comics, so this was a perfect chance to buy the first volume. Mr. Sakai and his wife were both incredibly nice and I can’t wait to start reading. I also got to see Jim Lee, one of the best comic book artists ever, but I wasn’t able to meet him. Maybe next year.

        

I mentioned London’s love for Legos, so when we got to the Lego booth and there was a huge pile of yellow Legos for the kids to play in, he was in heaven. Something pretty cool happened while we were there too. A guy named Brian Tong, who works for a technology website called CNET.com, approached us and asked if London could be in a video he was making for their site. He had London climb into one of the huge swag bags they give us, then carried him around. It was a short video and London was kinda nervous about it all, but it was fun to be a part of. You can watch the whole video here. London’s part is at about minute 2:45. I also taped it though, so if you just want to see that it’s below.

After a few hours of wandering around we were all pretty tuckered out, so we headed home. Overall it was an awesome experience, and I can’t wait to do it again. One of the best parts is I didn’t leave the camera on top of our car like last year 🙂 Below are a few more pics of the displays and such. Can’t wait for next year. Hopefully you can make it too!

        

Optimus Prime, us as action figures, big hairy guy.

   

Perry the Platybus! Not sure…, and another Optimus Prime

   

Batman, Dark Knight costumes, and Tron

3 responses to “Comic-Con 2011

  1. Looks like you had a great time. Thanks for sharing and enjoyed London’s 3 seconds of fame on the CNET video.

  2. Wow! That looks like so much fun! My son would love it. He freaked when he saw the pictures of bat man and perry! Glad y’all had so much fun!

  3. Thanks Diane, it was awesome. Someday London will even appreciate it 🙂

    It was tons of fun Mandie. I was pretty stoked about the big Perry too!

Leave a Reply

