My Animated Short Film

Wow, I definitely didn’t plan on it being so long between my last post and now. Life just gets busy I guess. The exciting news I mentioned in that post was that my animated short film was accepted into the Palm Springs International ShortFest. Out of about 3000 entries, mine was one of about 300 accepted. Needless to say I was pretty excited. My short was also accepted into the California International Shorts Festival, where it won the Honorable Mention. Unfortunately, there was an issue with it playing at that fest before the Palm Springs fest, so it wasn’t able to be screened. However, they were very kind in allowing me to keep the award.

The Palm Springs fest actually took place last week, and was a really cool experience. It was part of the On The Job program, which focused on job-related films. It was a wildly varied program though, from a documentary about a young charcoal-selling boy to a story about Italian carnival workers, to a birthday party clown who can’t cry. All the films were really good, and it was cool to be a part of the program. It was also very cool to see my film in a theater. It’s something I hoped would happen about 4 years ago when I started it, and it felt great to realize that goal. I’m still submitting to festivals, so hopefully more will be on the horizon. But for now I’m just thrilled it had the chance to play in Palm Springs. Below are a few images related to the fest, and above is a small clip of the film. At some point I’ll post the whole thing, but that won’t be for a while because of festival restrictions. I have a facebook page for the film, as well as its own site, www.thestarshepherd.com Thanks for checking it out!

2 responses to “My Animated Short Film

  1. Can’t wait to see the whole thing. The first 43 seconds look GREAT! Can’t wait to see the beautiful sweet new addition to your family. Congrats on both !!!!!

Leave a Reply

