A Boy and His Car

Or young man and his car I guess. I was 21 when I bought my first car. My dad drove me around for a few hours, until finally I saw it: a five-year-old dark green Honda Accord with 70,000 miles on it. I was thrilled to finally be driving my very own car. And drive it I did. My first road trip was from Provo, Utah to Las Vegas to see the Dropkick Murphys play a concert on my birthday. My brother and some good friends and I made the trip down and back in a day, enjoying an amazing show in the process. I decided to call the car Murphy because of that trip. Over the next two years I drove from Utah to Seattle, San Diego, New York City, Atlanta and even Anchorage, Alaska and everywhere in between. I love driving, and I loved driving my car. Eventually I got married and went back to school, and after that moved to California to work. The whole time Murphy was reliable, and people would always be impressed whenever I told them the mileage.

This week a milestone was met. As I drove down the 91 freeway in the fading daylight, Murphy’s odometer crept slowly upward, finally hitting the magical number of 300,000 miles. Granted, only 230,000 of those miles were mine, but it was still pretty awesome to see. (for some perspective, the drive from Seattle to New York City is about 2900 miles. So I’ve driven the equivalent of that about 90 times. Kind of crazy.)

Murphy isn’t much to look at anymore. She has a cracked windshield, peeling paint, and numerous dents and dings. Just like the outside, the upholstery and carpet have seen many better days. But I’m happy to say that I was there for the majority of those days. I’ve driven Murphy through over 30 states and 3 Canadian provinces. (there’s a map below) I’ve slept in her at rest stops, drove my future wife around in her, and entrusted my life and my family’s life to her more times than I could possibly count.

One of my favorite things to do in Murphy is when I’m driving at night, to open up the sunroof and steal glances at the stars and the sky. I know one day I’ll have to part ways with Murphy. But until then I’m going to keep looking through the sunroof at the stars, grateful for the places she’s taken me.

2 responses to “A Boy and His Car

Leave a Reply

