Resolutions

The image above was done by Etoile-du-nord.

Happy new year everyone! Last year went by amazingly fast, and I’m sure this year will continue the trend. (Case in point: It’s already the 4th and I’m barely getting around to doing this.) I have to be up front and say I don’t really like making lists of things to get done. I usually have a decent memory and am able to remember what things need to be done, and what the deadlines are. But as my wife might attest, I fail at remembering once in a while. But while I don’t like making lists of everyday things to accomplish, I do think it’s a good idea to write down goals. There’s a famous quote that goes along with this line of thought: “Goals that are not written down are just wishes”. I think there’s a number of reasons why this is true, not the least of which is the fact that if you don’t have a hard copy of your goals, whether you share them with others or not, it’s easier to procrastinate and push the goal further down the path. If it’s written down, it can and should be a consistent reminder of whatever it is you want to accomplish. So I’m going to list my resolutions here. (My professional ones anyway. Nobody here needs to know about my personal ones 🙂  We’ll see how I do at the end of the year. They’re listed below…

in no particular order:

1. Publish my book. Whether by getting an agent and selling it, or by self-publishing.

2. Finish my next book. I just started writing last night. I’m 619 words in. Only 75,000 to go!

3. Finish my short film and get it into festivals. It’s so achingly close, there’s no way I’m not finishing it this year. But I’m really ready to move on.

4. Blog at least twice a month. My blogging definitely has its ebbs and flows, but I should at least be updating that often.

5. Create something every week. I used to get so mad at myself for watching hours of cartoons on Saturday mornings, when I should have been drawing or creating something. I want to have that drive back.

6. Read tons. Thanks to goodreads.com, I’ve been keeping track of what I’ve read for the past few years, and this year will be no different.

7. Draw and write at least three times a week. I’m still working on my million bad drawings, and I’m further behind on my writing.

8. Make more comics. I had so much fun with the Halloween one, I’d really like to do more.

9. Get a job that allows me more time with my family. I’d say this is actually my most important goal. I love my job, but I love my family way more.

It’s done. These are out there now, and although not written in stone, written on the internet is almost as permanent. I’m going to check back in around the first of July and see how I’m doing. Best of luck to everyone in this new, fresh year.  I’ll end with a few more quotes to hopefully inspire us this coming year.

New Year’s Day is every man’s birthday.  ~Charles Lamb

Be always at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors, and let each new year find you a better man.  ~Benjamin Franklin

Leave a Reply

