Happy (Tangled) Thanksgiving!

I, like most people who’ve been born in the last 70+ years, grew up on Disney. Cinderella, Peter Pan, 101 Dalmations, and later The Little Mermaid, Aladdin, Beauty and the Beast and the Lion King, just to name a very few. Even the ones that didn’t involve magic had something magical about them. Disney was the main factor in my decision to go into the animation industry, and I had two major goals when I started: Work on a Batman or comic-book related movie, and work on an animated feature film.

By the time I got out of school, traditional animation was pretty much dead in the water. I got into the visual effects side of things, and before long was able to work on The Incredible Hulk. One goal accomplished, one to go. But I wasn’t sure if I’d ever get the chance to work on an animated film. Through a series of events and setbacks and good fortune, I wound up at Disney last year. It was incredible to be in the same building that so many amazing movies had been created in.

After working on an animated short, I was able to work on Tangled. I didn’t know it when I started, but Tangled is Disney’s 50th animated feature film. It’s a huge accomplishment, and I’m grateful and humbled to be a part of that legacy. Tangled finally came out yesterday, and I’m so excited for people to see it. All biases aside, it’s one of my favorite Disney movies. It has all the heart, laughs, adventure, and yes, magic, that have been synonymous with Disney at its best. I hope people go and see it. I want people to see that the Disney magic we grew up with is alive and well. I want them to believe in fairy tales again.

This video will be playing in front of Tangled, and shows a clip of each of Disney’s 50 animated films. It’s definitely worth a watch. Happy Thanksgiving!

4 responses to “Happy (Tangled) Thanksgiving!

  1. Hey Dan, I had no idea you worked on Tangled, that’s awesome. After I saw the movie I ran home and bought the soundtrack and listened to it nonstop until I saw the movie again a few days later. I love it! Congrats on being a part of this instant classic, it’s really something special.

    • Thanks Kevin! I’m glad you liked the movie! I’m definitely biased, but I love it. I thought they did a great job with the story and characters, and it’s just beautiful to look at. It’s awesome seeing people respond so well to it. And I love the soundtrack too. It’s been on pretty constant rotation at our house too 🙂 Thanks again. Hope you’re doing well!

  2. I have now discovered your blog. Congratulations on achieving my lifelong dream! Now I will do my best to achieve it myself. I’ve told you before, but I was ever so excited to see the name of someone I know in the credits of a Disney movie. The movie was a delight! We’re thinking of seeing it again tomorrow morning…

    • Thanks Drew! I’m really lucky to have been able to work on Tangled. It was a dream come true for me as well. You’ll get there. I’m sure of it. Now I wish it could just come out on dvd so I could watch it more 🙂

Leave a Reply

