Eight Years and Counting…


Yesterday was my eight year anniversary. I met my beautiful wife in Anchorage, Alaska in the summer of 2002. We were both there for the summer driving tour buses for one of the cruise lines. We instantly hit it off, and within a few weeks we were engaged. Six months later on a rainy day (which is good luck) in San Diego, we got married. Kind of crazy, I know. But it’s worked out amazingly well so far, and I don’t see it ever stopping. During that summer, I made my soon-to-be wife a few mix tapes, (back when people actually used cassette tapes) and on one of them I put the Ben Folds song The Luckiest. It’s an incredible song, and we both kind of clicked with it. It expressed exactly how we felt (and still feel) about each other. Although I didn’t ever think I’d have one, we had found “our song”. Sorry to get all mushy, but this is seriously one of the best love songs ever. I hope you can all find someone in your lives who reflects the feeling in this song.

Now I know all the wrong turns,
The stumbles and falls
Brought me here
And where was I before the day
That I first saw your lovely face?
Now I see it everyday
And I know
That I am
The luckiest

3 responses to “Eight Years and Counting…

  1. I also LOVE this song. For our 25th wedding anniversary we were on a cruise ship and I asked the piano bar player if he knew the song the day before our 25th. He said no, but that he would learn it, if I could give him my I-Pod with the song on it. I did and he played it for us the following night on our 25th. He did an AMAZING job and it is a memory I will treasure forever.
    If you would like to hear another very romantic song to add to list listen to the following: http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=I+will+be+here+keali'i+reichel&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

    Keali’ Reichel is a Hawaiian singer and is FABULOUS.
    Happy #8 … I wish you as much great joy, laughter and love that Jeff and I have had over the last 27.

Leave a Reply

