Comic book panels, penciled and inked

I still haven’t gotten around to writing much lately. But I have been working on the comic, and it’s been a ton of fun. I can’t remember the last time my hand was actually cramping up from drawing. It’s been too long since I’ve felt that. I decided I wanted the comic to have kind of a storyboard/cinematic feel to it. Besides the storyboard format, I was also inspired by the DC: New Frontier comics by Darwyn Cooke. It’s an amazing series and I love his art. Most of the pages only have three wide panels, and it works great. I also decided to go with a pretty graphic look. Big blocky shapes and lots of black. I’ve been reading a lot of Hellboy lately, and man, Mike Mignola is so amazing. I’m not talented enough to rip off his style, but I thought something similar would work well for my story, and so far I’ve really enjoyed it. So here are the first three panels, which will make up the first page. I didn’t have time to do anything more than scan them in and adjust the levels, so they’re still kinda rough. And I’ll be coloring them hopefully soon as well. But I’d love to hear what you think. I’m 2/3 of the way through page 2, so there should be more up soon. Thanks for taking a look!

2 responses to “Comic book panels, penciled and inked

  1. Dan,

    These are AMAZING! I’m anxious to see the writing that will go along with it. I love the detail in the first one and the shading on the other two. The third one appears to have a 3-D like effect. So those are random comments from someone who doesn’t know ANYTHING about comics, but I like what I see so far. Looking forward to seeing more.

  2. Thanks Diane! I hope you like the finished product, though that’s a long way off. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

