So I’m making a comic book…

I’ve been a comic book fan my whole life. In the mid 1980’s Gladstone Publishing started reprinting many of the old Disney comics, a lot of which were by the late, great Carl Barks. My dad started collecting them and he’d let us kids read them. I’m pretty sure this was my first real exposure to comic books.

Fast-forward a little bit to June 1989. I was ten years old, and Tim Burton’s amazing Batman film had just come out. I was hooked. I got into comics and collected for a few years, then sort of fell away. Then the whole Knightfall series happened, and I was drawn back into the comic book world, never to really leave. Recently I realized I didn’t have a lot of what are considered the vital Batman comics. So I picked up Year One, The Dark Knight Returns, The Long Halloween & Dark Victory, Arkham Asylum, and a few others. Somewhere along the line, as I’ve been reading and rereading these and other comics, something clicked. I like to draw, and I like to write. Combine the two, and you get an art form that I’ve been in love with for years. Right around the same time I got a hold of Brandon Dayton’s self-published and amazing Green Monk comic, and I knew what I wanted to do.

So I started reading everything I could. I read Scott McCloud’s Understanding Comics. I read Will Eisner’s Comics and Sequential Art and Graphic Storytelling and Visual Narrative. And I read books by Peter David and Denny O’Neal, among others. In the meantime I’ve also been putting the final touches on my novel. The whole time I was writing it I was seeing the events taking place in my mind. Originally I was going to adapt it to screenplay, and I still want to, but I also realized the story would lend itself very well to the comics medium. Finally I thought I had a decent handle on comics writing, So I started. The first issue is written and now comes the art. It’s thumbnailed out and all that’s left is for me to dive in and get to work. It’s both exciting and a bit scary. But I think it’ll be cool, and I’ll be updating things here. I’m going to the San Diego Comic Con for the first time this year, and with any luck I’ll be back next year with a comic of my own.

5 responses to “So I’m making a comic book…

Leave a Reply

