Poetry Thursday #4

I’ve been pretty horrible about posting this week.  But I couldn’t let Poetry Thursday go by without a post. So here goes. Written 03/04/03

cold & sore

taste the salt from
broken lips I
just can’t hold
onto this I’ve
raced through days
afraid to blink I
felt the weight
upon me sink
I felt my eyes
begin to fade
I cursed the sound
my breathing made
hollow gasps
ragged wheezing
I can’t escape
this fear I’m feeling
I swear I’m running
the right track
but I can’t go on
I can’t
go back

Leave a Reply

