Poetry Thursday #2

So much for me not posting any emo ones. Oh well. Written 10/30/02.

Song of forever

I’ll walk outside
back through the cold
I’ll hear the animals
shift in their sleep
and I’ll glance at the sky
see the stars through dead arms
of aging elm trees
and I’ll think of a song
of forever ago
I’ll listen to the water
spill from the trough
and I’ll close my eyes
and wish for a moment
of beauty and warmth
before I open them
once again
to the bitter fall air
and the pale moonlit grass
and the shadows
of another
night spent alone

2 responses to “Poetry Thursday #2

Leave a Reply

