Quote of the Day #7

The year was 1995. I had just started my junior year of high school. My brother had always been into The Smashing Pumpkins, and while I really liked Siamese Dream, I can’t say I was the biggest fan. Then Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness came out, and I was hooked. Granted, not every song on it is a gem, but the majority of them are great. The Pumpkins arguably went downhill after that point. But for that year, culminating in the concert my brother and I took our dad to, the Pumpkins were omnipresent. One song always stood out to me in particular. Maybe it’s because the title is the year I was born, or maybe it’s just because it’s an awesome song. But 1979 captures and expresses the feelings I had when I was 16.  It’s something hard to explain and impossible to relive, but I can catch glimpses of it when I listen to this song.

we don’t even care as restless as we are
we feel the pull in the land of a thousand guilts
and poured cement, lamented and assured
to the lights and towns below
faster than the speed of sound

2 responses to “Quote of the Day #7

Leave a Reply

