Short Story Exercise

With editing my novel, trying to finish an animated short film, and all the regular stuff that comes along with life, I haven’t had time to just sit down and write lately.  We have a pack of American Painting Knowledge Cards, sort of a set of flashcards put out by the Smithsonian, of American painters and their works. A few years ago my wife had an ingenious idea that we should write short stories based on or inspired by these paintings. In cleaning house today, we stumbled upon the cards again, and my wife reiterated the idea. I thought it would be a perfect way to get some creative juices flowing. So I’m going to try to do one of these per week. I’ll post the painting on Monday and hopefully have something by either Friday or the following Monday. The length will be determined by how inspired I am and how much time I’ve got, but regardless I’ll put something together that will hopefully be decent. I’d be really interested in seeing other interpretations of these paintings as well, so please feel free to post your own short stories in the comments. Here’s the first one, by the great Edward Hopper, entitled Cape Cod Morning. Good luck!


4 responses to “Short Story Exercise

Leave a Reply

