The Old Ballgame

People ask me what I do in winter when there’s no baseball. I’ll tell you what I do. I stare out the window and wait for spring. ~Rogers Hornsby

It’s a little ridiculous how excited I am, but BASEBALL is finally here! I love baseball season anyway, but this year I’m especially excited. Part of it is due to my team, the Angels, making some huge offseason acquisitions that will most certainly help them this season. But I’m mainly excited for another reason. We’ve been taking our kids to baseball games pretty much since they were born. My boys are now 6 and 5, and toward the end of last season they started to get more into it. At the last game we went to I even brought scorecards so they could keep track of what was happening on the field. I don’t know if it’s the time of year, or if they’re just feeding off some subconscious energy, but the past few weeks my boys have been asking us when they’re going to go to another Angels game. And I couldn’t be more happy.

As I’ve talked about in posts for the last couple years, (here and here) baseball means much more to me than just a game. Although not perfect, it stands for many things I believe in, and I know my kids can grow and learn and become good people as a result of paying attention to the game. I recently came across this video of an incident that happened in 1976.

I don’t know why those two men were trying to burn the American flag, but I can’t help but be inspired by Rick Monday’s actions. He saw something he didn’t approve of happening, and he took action. There’s a saying in baseball that no matter how good you are, you’re going to win a third of the time, and you’re going to lose a third of the time, and it’s what you do with the other third that matters. Just like in baseball, we’re all going to have good experiences and bad ones. Good days and horrible ones. It’s what we do with them that matters. We decide how to act when put in those situations. We can stand by and watch or we can take action and stand up for what we believe in. I hope my kids can learn that, and I’m perfectly fine if they learn it from watching baseball.

Play ball!

PS. It’s just darn exciting.

3 responses to “The Old Ballgame

Leave a Reply

